Thanksgiving: Beat the Rush!


Ah-hah!  Fooled you didn’t I?  You thought I was going to have some advance notice of a Black Friday sale or promotion, right?  Or perhaps you thought I was going to provide some coupons for an early and easier dinner preparation experience. Well none of that.  Instead, I wanted to again respect the true meaning of the holiday and get a jump on stating the key things for which I am thankful. 

My faith:  First and foremost.

My family:  Huge supporters of mine and many of them.  My family spans the East Coast even down into the Caribbean and there are some well outside the Eastern Time Zone.  I appreciate your lessons and wisdom and pushing me to excel.  My dad was a great role model and it was his chosen profession as a police officer that helped shape my decision to become an attorney.  My mom is a phenomenal woman who is instrumental in my drive to keep on keeping on.  My brothers hold me down and pick me up.  And my many other family members each have a special place in my heart and my life.

My clients:  Without you I would not be where I am at this point in my career.  I appreciate your confidence, patience, resourcefulness, assistance, and your referrals.  It is because of you that I do and can do what I do.

My colleagues and friends:   I am quite blessed to have so many of you and for the things that you have shared with me.  Whether it be high school classmates or fellow alums from college or law school the connections we have span a lifetime.  And for the many of you who I have met along the way your friendships and collaborations are quite important too. I do not have enough time or space to give examples of the countless times it has been about “who you know and not what you know.”  I love what I do for a living and take it seriously so I appreciate my colleagues and fellow professionals who have helped me along the way.  I work quite hard but I play harder so I also thank my colleagues and friends who have shared laughs, recreation, events, and many memories that help recharge my battery.
Now that the “thank yous” are out of the way, pass the turkey and the stuffing and turn on the tv so we can feast on some football.  Oh, that’s right I may have to wait a bit on these features of the upcoming holiday but I look forward to them.  I wish each of you a happy and safe Thanksgiving season.

Leave a Reply

