Looking Back After 25 Years: A Reunion Story


So as things go in life the years march on and we all seek to become wiser and better.  I have had some amazing opportunities and experiences in my 43 1/4 years of life and am quite thankful.  In August my high school graduating class will be celebrating 25 years as Bears; New Bern Bears, that is.  I am proud to be a native of New Bern and am blessed to be part of a high school class that has a depth of talent, personality, and chemistry.  My classmates are all over the United States doing good and interesting things.  Several of them are outside of the United States.  Some have proudly served in our military (thanks much for your service) while others have taught and worked around the world while several are keeping it local and sharing their talents with the folks in New Bern.

As I think back on the 25 years since high school I recall the many blessings I had during my high school years.  My teachers who pushed me and inspired me to keep working hard and have an unquenchable thirst for knowledge.  I harken back to my mother who encouraged me to be the best I could be and go far even if it meant leaving New Bern.  I fondly remember my family members who supported me and still support me.  I reminisce about the good people at St. Peter’s AME Zion Church in New Bern who taught me and my two brothers about character, humility, responsibility, and the value of a firm moral foundation.  And yes I think back over the many persons and personalities who shared classrooms, music rooms, football games, test days, graduation day, and other days/events in the life of a high schooler.  Thank you to all of you for helping to shape me into the person I am today.

As I look back I am reminded and firmly convinced that moving forward need not mean forgetting the past.  This is especially true when the past contains good memories, good people, and good lessons.  Every member of the New Bern High School Class of 1989 should join us Friday, August 15 and Saturday, August 16 for Reunion.  We are planning several social events and affording classmates the opportunity to come together and be inspired all over again.  Look to see you there……….Go Bears!

Leave a Reply

