NCAJ Convention: A Must for the Serious Legal Professional


Life is a constant classroom.  Whether it be listening to others, taking enrichment classes, or pursuing formal education there are endless opportunities to expand one’s mind.  With the advent of the Internet and smartphones information comes at us faster and in more formats now than ever before.  Often I find myself trying to reign in the information that is thrust in my direction and devise ways to make the learning process more convenient.

Next month I will be attending the annual North Carolina Advocates for Justice Convention.  Convention, which runs June 14th through 17th, will return to Sunset Beach, North Carolina and provide attorneys, paralegals, judges, and other legal professionals to meet, greet, and get quality continuing legal education in between multiple opportunities for networking and power meetings.  The NCAJ staff is fantastic and they put together a stellar Convention year in and year out.  I have been to Convention on many occasions and am always invigorated when I return to my practice.  The registration fee and time away from the office are well worth the investment as I gain information, education, documents, contacts, and other resources that are immediately useful in my representation of my clients.

For my part, I will be speaking twice during Convention.  On Saturday afternoon will be speaking to paralegals about methods and ethics related to the handling of case intakes, engagement of new clients, and disengagement of existing clients.   Two days later I will serve on a panel with two esteemed consumer law colleagues as we speak to attorneys, paralegals, and others about select consumer law issues.  I will be chatting about mandatory disclosures during vehicle transactions and debt collection issues that impact non-consumer law attorneys.  My manuscripts are complete and submitted and I look forward to sharing information and lessons I have learned first-hand against the backdrop of the relevant law.

The beauty of being in a Convention or seminar session is that even the speaker can learn. Education should be a two-way street.  Accordingly, I guarantee I will learn something from questions or comments raised by Convention attendees during both of my presentations.  And during Convention I will be attending many other sessions and seminars in which I will be the student.

For those of you in the legal profession who have never attended Convention I invite you to attend and see what you have been missing.  Embrace the opportunity to learn and make plans to attend.  Hope to see you there.

 

1 Comment

  1. I will be there !

    Billy Walkowiak, Owner Collision Safety Consultants 6116 Wilkinson Blvd. Belmont NC. 28012 NCDOI & SCDOI Lic Appraiser I-CAR certified Nationally Certified Child passenger safety technician 704.747.9337 iPhone 704.825.0045 fax

    It takes 8,460 bolts to assemble an automobile, but only one NUT to scatter them all over the highway!” contact me for a Collision Safety check. ©

    Billy.collisionsafety@gmail.com collisionsafetyconsultants.com

    >

Leave a Reply

