Upping the Ante: New Laws Affecting Claims in North Carolina State Courts
Effective August 1, 2013, the limits to file claims in North Carolina state courts will increase. Here is a summary:
Limit for claims in Small Claims court will rise from $5,000 to $10,000
Limit for claims in District Court will rise from $10,000 to $25,000
Claims in Superior Court currently must seek damages in excess of $10,000 for Small Claims; effective August 1st the Superior Court division amount is increased to those claims greater than $25,000.
These new limits apply to all causes of action that are filed on or after August 1, 2013. There is a grace period between August 1, 2013 until June 30, 2015, in which either District or Superior Courts have jurisdiction for amounts in controversy between $10,000 and $25,000.
Also effective August 1, 2013 there will be changes to the arbitration system in District Court including the possibility of the losing party in an arbitration appeal being required to pay attorney’s fees and costs.