A Teachable Moment


This weekend I have been reviewing my notes in preparation for a one-hour webinar on debt collection issues I am co-presenting for lawyers in North Carolina.  I am the immediate past Chair of the Consumer Areas of Practice Section and am co-presenting Wednesday’s webinar with the current Section Chair.  The webinar seeks to provide some basic information and points of reference for lawyers who do not typically handle debt collection cases.  We will cover debt-related issues that arise in personal injury cases, family law cases, and workers’ compensation cases—-to name a few. 

There are too few attorneys in North Carolina who handle debt collection defense, auto fraud, vehicle issues, and similar consumer book law matters.  In fact, it appears that I am one of the very few consumer law attorneys in the 336 (Greensboro-High Point–Winston-Salem–Burlington–Graham and surrounding counties) area code.  And I regularly receive calls and e-mails from potential clients throughout the 704/980 (Gastonia–Shelby–Charlotte–Huntersville–Lincolnton–Statesville–Salisbury–Concord, etc.) , 828 (Hickory–Lenoir–Newton–Asheville–Morganton–Taylorsville, etc.), and 910 (Fayetteville–Fort Bragg–Dunn–Sanford–Pinehurst, etc.) area codes.  

There are some unique and often complex laws and standards that relate to auto fraud, breach of warranty, and debt collection cases. An over-arching theme of the webinar is to educate attorneys across North Carolina so they may help their respective clients who may face debt-related issues.  I am glad to share my knowledge and ideas and hope many attorneys and clients are helped by what I may share.  

When faced with a consumer law issue it is important to locate an attorney who has the knowledge and experience to properly handle your case.  I have proudly represented and continue to represent clients from across North Carolina which includes Cleveland County to Craven County and many, many points in between.  And while I retain a focus on consumer law cases I also handle several other types of civil cases

If you have what appears to be a consumer law issue and are in need of a free consultation feel free to contact me.  And if you know of someone who is in need of assistance please share my contact information with him or her.  Thank you in advance and I look forward to your call or e-mail.

Leave a Reply

