The Cost of Waiting


Sometimes procrastination is a good thing. Shopping after a holiday can result in huge discounts. Waiting to buy technology items can allow manufacturers to work out bugs and kinks and save you some aggravation.  But then there are times that waiting can hurt you.  Here are a few examples of how waiting to handle certain matters in North Carolina can cost you money and more:

  • Failing to show up for traffic court can mean a $200.00 failure to appear fee.
  • Failing to pay your court costs, fines, and fees on the day your case is disposed in court will result in a $20.00 “extended payment plan” fee assessed by the State of  North Carolina court system.
  • Failing to dispose of a traffic citation by the deadline stated in a letter you receive from the NC Division of Motor Vehicles could lead to the suspension of your license and even more money for you to pay.
  • If you believe you were harassed or discriminated against by your employer and wish to file a claim, notify the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission as soon as possible. Failure to file a charge with the Commission within 180 days of the last wrongful act means any such claims are barred.
  • Have a claim of slander or libel that occurred in North Carolina? Better move fast. North Carolina has a one-year statute of limitations on defamation claims.
  • If you believe you were terminated from your job or demoted due to a pending workers’ compensation claim you have six months to file a lawsuit from the date of the wrongful employment action.
  • If you receive a demand letter or other correspondence from a credit card company or other collector of a debt and you wish to dispute the debt, you must send your dispute letter and otherwise exercise your rights within 30 days of your receipt of the correspondence. Missing this deadline could seriously affect your right to challenge the debt.
  • If you are sued in state court you have 30 days to file a written Answer or response or request for extension of time to respond.  Missing this deadline could lead to an entry of default against you.  And if you are sued in federal court the time frame is only 20 days…yikes!
  • Hurt at work? You need to notify your employer of your injury within 30 days after it occurs or you may face an uphill battle with a workers’ compensation claim.
  • If you sign a contract for a multi-level marketing program or a health club membership and decide to cancel your contract your decision to cancel must be communicated to the business within 3 calendar days (not business days which means weekends count too) of your signing date.  NOTE: General rule, most contracts do not have any “cooling off” period or right to cancel.  So…once you sign, you bind—unless the contract or a specific law states otherwise.

These represent a few of the more common costs of waiting but rest assured there are more.  When you wait to the last minute to go to a tax professional or a lawyer you need not expect a miracle.  The moral of the story is to act promptly regarding your business and legal matters.  Failure to do so just might cost you more than you can afford.

 

 

Advertisements

2 Comments

    Trackbacks

    1. New Year, New Rules | Law and Life Blog
    2. Free Advice! | Law and Life Blog

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: